Blood cancers

Blood cancers are cancers that develop in the blood. This can affect the production of blood cells and also how they work.

As white blood cells fight infection in the body, blood cancers can affect the immune system.

There are several different types of blood cancer. The main blood cancers are:

  • leukaemia, which affects white blood cells. There are four main types of leukaemia:
    • chronic myeloid (CML)
    • acute myeloid (AML)
    • chronic lymphocytic (CLL)
    • acute lymphoblastic (ALL)
  • lymphoma, a cancer of lymphocytes, a type of white blood cell. There are two main types of lymphoma:
  • Myeloma, a cancer of plasma cells in bone marrow

At The Christie, the Haematology and transplant unit and Lymphoma team treat different types of blood cancer.

You can also read our patient information booklet on the Chronic lymphocytic leukaemia (CLL) service at The Christie.

Last updated: August 2022