Strike action between Monday 2 October to Thursday 5 October 2023

Consultants and junior doctors at The Christie will both strike between 7am on Monday 2 October to 7am on Thursday 5 October 2023. Both consultants and junior doctors will still provide emergency care during their strikes.

We are proactively contacting patients with appointments that may be affected by this strike. If you have an appointment at the Trust on any of these dates, please continue to come to The Christie and our other centres as planned unless we contact you to tell you otherwise. There may be longer waits than usual in clinics during this time.

Please do not call to check if your appointment is still going ahead.

Skip to Content

Care Quality Commission (CQC)

These are the standards everybody has a right to expect when they receive care. They form part of legal changes recommended by Sir Robert Francis following his inquiry into care at Mid Staffordshire NHS Foundation Trust.

The CQC do this by monitoring, inspecting and regulating services, and by publishing what they find to help people choose the right standard of care.

Inspection and ratings

To get to the heart of people's experiences of care and support, the focus of inspections is on the quality and safety of services, based on the things that matter to people. 5 key questions are asked about the service.

Are they:

  • Safe?
  • Effective?
  • Caring?
  • Responsive to people's needs?
  • Well-led?

To help inspection teams direct the focus of their inspections, they use a standard set of 'key lines of enquiry' (KLOEs) and prompts. KLOEs help them to form a judgement about the quality of the service, determine a rating for each of the 5 key questions, and where relevant, produce an overall rating for the service. Ratings are an important part of the inspection process and use a 4-point scale: outstanding, good, requires improvement, or inadequate.

Last updated: August 2023