The Christie in line to be named hospital of the year

Press release posted 12 September 2016

The Christie is a finalist in the prestigious 2016 Health Service Journal (HSJ) Awards which celebrate excellence and innovation in UK healthcare.

Manchester’s world leading cancer centre has been shortlisted in the Provider Trust of the Year category. The Trust had to demonstrate a variety of standards and behaviours including how it champions best practice and innovation, offers high quality and compassionate care with the patient at the centre, provides excellent engagement between managers and clinicians, fosters a culture where staff feel valued and respected and strong financial management. 

The Trust also had to show that it has an eye to the future and a clear understanding of the importance of partnership working with organisations both in and outside the NHS. 

Some of the key highlights in the Christie’s award submission included its excellent patient and staff survey results, its clinical leadership, patient and staff engagement, partnership working, upcoming developments and strong and consistent history of high performance.

The HSJ awards are the most prominent and coveted awards in UK health, recognising and celebrating the very best of the sector. 

The Christie, along with other shortlisted organisations, will now complete a presentation and interview to a judging panel made up of senior and influential figures from the healthcare sector. A winner will then be chosen. 

Roger Spencer, Chief Executive of The Christie, said: "We are delighted that the work we do at The Christie has been recognised nationally as leading in innovation and best practice. We strive to deliver exceptional patient care and treatment outcomes and be at the forefront of cancer research and education. Being shortlisted for the Provider Trust of the Year award shows that our passion to improve cancer services is held in high regard nationally."

Other finalists are:

Ashford and St Peter's Hospitals Foundation Trust

Bradford District Care Foundation Trust

Derbyshire Community Health Services Foundation Trust

East London Foundation Trust

Greater Manchester West Mental Health Foundation Trust

Mersey Care Foundation Trust

Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health

South Warwickshire Foundation Trust

Tees, Esk and Wear Valleys Foundation Trust


The winner will be announced at an awards ceremony on 23rd November at the InterContinental O2 in London.